Author - StudySection Post Views - 27 views

All About NBA Games

The National Basketball Association or NBA was founded on June 6, 1946, in New York and it was called the Basketball Association of America (BAA). Later It changed its name to the National Basketball Association on August 3, 1949, after merging with the competing National Basketball League (NBL)
The league is divided into two conferences (Eastern and Western Conference). Each conference has 3 divisions. The Eastern conference has Atlantic, Central, and Southeast. The Western conference has Northwest, Pacific, and Southwest. Each division has 5 teams. The conferences, divisions and their teams are listed below.

Eastern Conference


  • New Jersey Nets
  • Boston Celtics
  • New York Knicks
  • Philadelphia 76ers
  • Toronto Raptors


  • Chicago Bulls
  • Cleveland Cavaliers
  • Detroit Pistons
  • Indiana Pacers
  • Milwaukee Bucks


  • Atlanta Hawks
  • Charlotte Bobcats
  • Miami Heat
  • Orlando Magic
  • Washington Wizards

Western Conference


  • Denver Nuggets
  • Minnesota Timberwolves
  • Oklahoma City Thunder
  • Portland Trail Blazers
  • Utah Jazz


  • Golden State Warriors
  • Los Angeles Clippers
  • Los Angeles Lakers
  • Phoenix Suns
  • Sacramento Kings


  • Dallas Mavericks
  • Houston Rockets
  • Memphis Grizzlies
  • New Orleans Hornets
  • San Antonio Spurs

The NBA Schedule is decided in the first week of August.

Regular Season

The NBA’s regular season runs from October to April. The regular season begins in the last week of October.

Important points:

  • Each team has to play 4 games against the other 4 division opponents(4 X 4=16 Games).
  • Each team plays 4 Games against 6 (out-of-division) conference opponents(4 X 6=24 games).
  • Each team plays 3 games against the remaining 4 conference teams (3 X 4 =12 Games).
  • Each team plays 2 games against teams in the opposing conference(2 X 15 =30 Games).

Although Each team has 15 players and 12 are part of the active roster and can dress out to play while the rest 3 are reserve, Out of 12 only 5 play at a time in Game.


After the conclusion of the regular season, the playoffs kick off with the top eight teams of each conference in April, regardless of divisional alignment, competing for the league’s championship title, The Larry O’Brien Championship Trophy.

Each team plays an opponent in a best-of-seven series, with the first team to win four games moving onto the next round, while the remaining teams are eliminated from the playoffs. In the next round, the successful team plays against another winning team of the same conference. Only one team is left in each conference and the rest got eliminated from the playoffs. The fifth-seeded teams and the winner of the series match the second- and seventh-seeded teams playing the winner of the series matching the third- and sixth-seeded teams. In every round, the best of 7 series follows a 2,2,1,1,1 home-court pattern, meaning that one team will have home court in games 1, 2, 5, and 7, while the other plays at home in games 3, 4, and 6.
In the final playoff round, a best-of-seven series is played between the victors of both conferences, is known as the NBA Finals, and is held annually in June. The winner of the NBA Finals playoff receives the Championship Trophy. Each player and major contributor gets a championship ring.

StudySection gives an opportunity to beginners and experts in .NET framework to go through StudySection’s .NET certification exam and get a .NET certification for enhancement of carrier in programming. If you have knowledge of the .NET framework then you can get a certificate through an online exam at StudySection.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *